Our Institutions

The first business school, which has come up in the private sector in the State, was also promoted by SCMS Group of Educational Institutions under the name as SCHOOL OF COMMUNICATION AND MANAGEMENT STUDIES in the year 1992. This Business School has grown to be one of the top global business schools in India with national (NBA – INDIA) and international (ACBSP – USA) Accreditations. It also received ISO Certification in 2001. Equivalence with MBA was yet another recognition it received from the Association of Indian Universities, Govt. of India as the programe offered at SCMS was a two year full time programme on par with MBA.

The Business School, which was rechristened as SCMS COCHIN SCHOOL OF BUSINESS in 2012, got globally linked through IS:link, a network of premier Universities world over, thereby providing international learning experience to our students for gaining better employability in a global economy. University of Applied Sciences, Ravensburg-Weingarten Germany, a prestigious University in Germany, entered into a collaborative agreement with our Group for regular faculty and students exchange and joint research. University of Hyogo, Japan, had signed an agreement to send their MBA students to attend classes in SCMS COCHIN SCHOOL OF BUSINESS.


The business school ranking agencies in India, particularly the leading media groups, have ranked SCMS as one among the best 25 business schools from among 4350 b. schools in the country. Right from the beginning it has been No.1 in Kerala. The School has received several national and international awards for excellence in leadership development, entrepreneurship and such other areas of great significance for corporate houses. It also received the covetable OMAC Global Award for perfection and performance. Yet another feather to its cap was the Medal of Excellence received in the prestigious International Business Plan Competition conducted by the North Carolina Central University of USA. SCMS has firmed up its global business school status by establishing academic tie-ups with 7 leading business schools in the world including business schools of La Trobe University of Australia, Chonnam National University of S.Korea, University of Applied Economics of Switzerland, University of Manchester, UK and North Carolina Central University. They collaborate in developing state-of-the-art curriculum, teaching methodology and for students and faculty exchange.

Today SCMS COCHIN SCHOOL OF BUSINESS is one of the best known Business Schools in India. It is a Consultant to Asian Development Bank and possesses Honorary Membership in the Association of Business Schools of UK.

Dr. Subramanian Swamy

(Former Minister of Commerce and Justice, Govt. of India)

Dr. Subramanian Swamy, as the Chairman of Board of Governors – SCMS through his vast experience as Professor at Harvard University and IIT Delhi gives directions and guidance to the Administrative team during his visits to the institution. His academic contributions to the institution through lecture series every year is treasured by both the students and faculty community.

Dr. G P C Nayar

Chairman, SCMS Group

Promoters of SCMS Group are academicians with years of experience in running professional institutions of excellence in management and technology. A long march to a glorious future was flagged off in 1976 with the establishment of the Prathap Foundation for Education and Training by Dr.G.P.C. Nayar at Kochi. 


Our homage to a great visionary

Dr. Pradeep P. Thevannoor

(1968 - 2014)

Dr. Pradeep P. Thevannoor, the late Vice Chairman of SCMS Group, was a great visionary and a source of inspiration for all of us at SCMS Group. He worked relentlessly to take SCMS to great heights in quality and excellence. A man of fertile imagination and untiring energy, he was in a hurry to accomplish his pet projects. SCMS School of Engineering & Technology was closest to his heart.

Board Members

scms chairman

Dr. G P C Nayar

Chairman, SCMS Group

Prof. Pramod P. Thevannoor

Vice Chairman

Prof. K. Gopakumar

Senior Group Director


Dr. Radha P. Thevannoor

Group Director

Dr. Indu Nair

Group Director

Mr. Baiju Radhakrishnan

Group Director